Qatar 2022

FIFA World Cup Qatar Daily Recap | Dec. 6, 2022

Morocco vs Spain

Today’s first match was Morocco vs Spain. Spain was heavily favored to win this game. Neither team scored in the first half. It was a 0-0 draw at halftime. Morocco managed to keep Spain out of their net in the second half too. The game would end in a 0-0. No one scored in extra time either. It went to penalties. Morocco won the penalty shootout. The game would end in a 0-0 draw with Morocco winning on penalties. It is the second game in two days that has required penalties to decide a winner. Morocco will advance. Spain will see their disappointing world cup run come to an end. This is a huge upset for Spain. Moroccos goal keeper won this one for them. Morocco will now face the winner of Portugal vs Switzerland in the quarter-finals.


Portugal vs Switzerland

For today’s second match Portugal played Switzerland in the final round of 16 match. Portugal was heavily favored to win this one. Portugal got the scoring going in the 17′ minute. They would add to their lead in the 33′ minute. Portugal would take a 2-0 lead into halftime. Not a huge lead but it could have been enough to keep the game out of Switzerland’s hands. In the second half Portugal would just take over. They scored in the 51′ minute, 53′ minute, 67′ minute and the 90+2′ minute. Switzerland would score one in the 58′ minute. Portugal had already scored four by that point though. The final score was 6-1 Portugal. Not surprising Portugal won. Switzerland is headed home. Portugal will be moving on to face Morocco in the quarter-finals. Goncalo Ramos is the first person in this world cup to get a hat trick. Despite the massive victory by Portugal, Cristiano Ronaldo did not score.


The round of 16 is now over. The quarter-finals are up next. The Netherlands, Argentina, England, France, Croatia, Brazil, Morocco, and Portugal have advanced to the quarter-finals.


The FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 will resume on December 9.


The Netherlands won Group A. England won Group B. Argentina won Group C. France won Group D. Japan won Group E. Morocco won Group F. Brazil won Group G. Portugal won Group H.

The Netherlands, Senegal, England, the United States, Argentina, Poland, France, Australia, Japan, Spain, Morocco, Croatia, Brazil, Switzerland, Portugal, and South Korea have advanced to the elimination stage.

Ecuador, Qatar, Iran, Wales, Germany, Costa Rica, Belgium, Canada, Cameroon, Serbia, Uruguay, and Ghana were all eliminated in the group stage.

The United States, Australia, Poland, Senegal, Japan, South Korea, Spain, and Switzerland were eliminated in the round of 16.

The Netherlands, Argentina, France, England, Croatia, Brazil, Morocco, and Portugal have all advanced to the quarter-finals.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: